How to Permanently Delete a Facebook Account

Get rid of this account for good

What there is to know

  • Go to Settings > Your Facebook information. Beside Deactivation and deletionto select To see > Delete account > Proceed to account deletion.
  • Following, Click on Delete account (or opt for Disable Account or Download information). Enter your password, click Continueand confirm deletion.
  • If you change your mind, log into Facebook within 30 days and confirm that you want to undelete the account.

This article explains how to permanently delete your Facebook account, as well as the factors to consider before taking this step. Instructions apply to Facebook accessed through a web browser on a desktop computer.

8 social media alternatives to Facebook that are definitely worth using

How to Permanently Close Your Facebook Account

Follow these steps to finally end your relationship with Facebook:

On the Facebook home screen, click the down arrow in the upper right corner.

From the menu that appears, select Settings and Privacy > Settings. (Note: you may need to select Settings and privacy first to find Settings.)

The Settings option on Facebook in a browser.

When the General account settings screen appears, click Your Facebook information in the left navigation bar.

The location of your Facebook information in Facebook on a browser.

In the information that appears on the screen, select To see beside Deactivation and deletion.

How to view deactivation and deletion on Facebook in a web browser.

On the next page, select Delete account then click Proceed to account deletion. (Note: This box previously displayed as Permanently Delete Account, as shown in the image; Delete Account is the current label.)

The account deletion option in Facebook on a web browser.

A new screen gives you the possibility to Disable Account or for Download information. If you haven’t yet downloaded the personal information (photos, chat histories, messages, etc.) that you want to keep, choose Download information and wait for the download to complete. Otherwise, click Delete account.

Screenshot of information about and an option to delete an account on Facebook.

Make sure you really want to delete your Facebook account before doing so. After 30 days, you cannot recover a deleted account.

Enter your password when prompted, then click Continue.

Facebook deletion confirmation with password using a web browser.

You are again prompted to confirm that you want to delete the account. Click on Delete account.

Another confirmation message when deleting a Facebook account using a browser.

Your account will be temporarily deleted and you will be returned to the login screen.

What to Consider Before Deleting Facebook

Before deleting your Facebook account, take some time to think about what you might lose by deleting it. For example, do you have photos that only exist on Facebook? Or what about other accounts (like Instagram or Pinterest) that may be linked to your Facebook login information to gain access? If you’re not sure how Facebook fits into your digital world, it might be best to turn it off first to get an idea of ​​which accounts and passwords you’ll need to change before shutting down completely. service.

If you’re sure you’re ready to delete your account, you should at least have a backup of the data you have stored on Facebook. It can be anything from your photos to chat histories and even friend lists. You will have the option to choose the data to download once the process has started.

If you change your mind about deleting your account within the 30-day deletion window, you can log back into Facebook and confirm that you want to undelete the page. The page will then be restored. After 30 days, the account and all account data will be permanently deleted.

Need to do it from your phone instead? Here’s how to do that on an Android and what to do on an iPhone.


More information about How to Permanently Delete a Facebook Account

Get rid of that account for good

What to Know
Go to Settings > Your Facebook Information. Next to Deactivation and Deletion, select View > Delete Account > Continue to Account Deletion.
Next, click Delete Account (or opt to Deactivate Account or Download Info). Enter your password, click Continue, and confirm the deletion.
If you change your mind, log in to Facebook within 30 days and confirm that you want to cancel the account deletion.

This article explains how to permanently delete your Facebook account, along with factors to consider before taking this step. Instructions apply to Facebook accessed via a web browser on a desktop computer.

8 Social Media Alternatives to Facebook Actually Worth Using
How to Permanently Close Your Facebook Account

Follow these steps to finally end your relationship with Facebook:

On the Facebook home screen, click the downward arrow in the upper-right corner.

In the menu that appears, select Settings & Privacy > Settings. (Note: You might need to select Settings & Privacy first to find Settings.)

When the General Account Settings screen appears, click Your Facebook Information on the left navigation bar.

In the information that appears on the screen, select View next to Deactivation and Deletion.

On the next page, select Delete Account and then click Continue to Account Deletion. (Note: This area previously showed as Permanently Delete Account as shown in the image; Delete Account is the current wording.)

A new screen gives you the option to Deactivate Account or to Download Info. If you have not yet downloaded the personal information (pictures, chat histories, posts, etc.) that you want to keep, choose Download Info and wait for the download to complete. Otherwise, click Delete Account.

Be sure you really want to delete your Facebook account before you do it. After 30 days, you cannot recover a deleted account.

Enter your password when prompted and then click Continue.

You’re prompted again to confirm you want to delete the account. Click Delete Account.

Your account will be temporarily deleted, and you are returned to the log-in screen.

What to Consider Before Deleting Facebook

Before you delete your Facebook account, take some time to consider what you might lose by deleting it. For example, do you have pictures that only exist on Facebook? Or what about other accounts (like Instagram or Pinterest) that may be tied to your Facebook log-in information to access? If you’re not sure how entwined Facebook is in your digital world, it might be a better idea to deactivate it first to get a sense of what accounts and passwords you’ll need to change before you completely cut the service off.

If you’re sure you’re ready to delete your account, at the very least you should have a backup of the data you have stored on Facebook. This could be anything from your pictures to chat histories and even friends lists. You’ll have the option to choose what data to download once you start the process.

If you change your mind about deleting your account within the 30-day deletion window, you can log back into Facebook and confirm that you want to cancel deleting the page. The page will then be restored. After 30 days, the account and all the data in the account will be permanently deleted.

Need to do this from your phone instead? Here’s how to do that on an Android and what to do on an iPhone.

#Permanently #Delete #Facebook #Account


Trả lời

Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *

Back to top button