How to View Your Facebook Profile as Public

Find out what other users see on your Facebook page

What there is to know

  • Go to facebook.com in a web browser or open the Facebook app.
  • Select your profile picture icon in the post composer field or at the top of the screen to access your profile.
  • Choose the three points under your cover photo and select see like to display your profile as it appears to the public.

This article explains how to view your Facebook profile as it appears in public. It includes information for Facebook in a web browser and the Facebook app on mobile devices.

How to display your Facebook profile as a public user

Facebook allows you to share certain information publicly, with friends, with specific friends, or just with yourself. If you want to display your Facebook profile as the public sees it so that you can see what others see (people who are not your friends), you can do this quite easily using Facebook’s public view feature. .

A few clicks are enough to put your public profile in front of you.

You can do this both on Facebook.com and on the official Facebook app for iPhone/Android. Instructions are provided for both, but screenshots are only provided for Facebook.com.

Go to Facebook.com in a web browser or open the Facebook app on your device and select your profile icon in the post composer field or in the upper right corner of the page to access your profile.

On Facebook.com, select the three points under your cover photo.

In the app, select the three points right of blue Add a story button.

To select see like.

Your profile will be presented to you as if you saw it as a public user. This is how non-friends see your profile.

A screenshot of Facebook.com.

If you notice something appearing publicly that you want to hide from the public, you can adjust the privacy settings for that information.

Why You Should See Your Facebook Profile as a Public User

You should use Facebook’s public display feature if you want to be able to confirm exactly what information you are keeping private from the public. Remember that anyone who stumbles upon your profile during a search or somehow finds the direct link to your profile can see the information you have made public.

Seeing your Facebook profile as public is even more important if you’ve been on the platform for many years. In the past, you may have been more laid back with what you’ve shared, which means it could have been very easy to ignore your current privacy settings before sharing or posting something.

By viewing your profile as a public user, you can see exactly what a non-friend sees on your profile and then decide if you need to adjust the privacy or perhaps remove something altogether.

Viewing your Facebook profile as a friend

Facebook previously allowed users to see their profiles as friends. Once you’ve selected View as, you can select View as a specific person and enter a friend’s name to see what their profile looks like from that friend’s perspective.

Unfortunately, this feature was removed due to a security breach related to it in 2018. It is unknown if it will eventually be reinstated.

If you want to display your Facebook profile as a specific friend, there’s a bit more work to do. Here are your options:

  • Ask a specific friend to view your profile the next time you are physically with them. This is perhaps the easiest option.
  • Ask a specific friend to send you a screenshot of your profile. If you can’t meet in person, ask a friend to screenshot your profile and send it to you.
  • Create a new Facebook profile. You can set up a brand new Facebook account, send a friend request to your original account, and then use the secondary account to view your profile once you’ve added it.

More information about How to View Your Facebook Profile as Public

Find out what other users see on your Facebook page

What to Know
Go to Facebook.com in a web browser or open the Facebook app.
Select your profile photo icon in the post composer field or at the top of the screen to go to your profile.
Choose the three dots under your cover photo and select View As to display your profile as it appears to the public.

This article explains how to view your Facebook profile as it appears in public. It includes information for Facebook in a web browser and the Facebook app on mobile devices.

How to View Your Facebook Profile as a Public User

Facebook allows you to share certain information publicly, with friends, with specific friends, or just with yourself. If you want to view your Facebook profile as the public sees it so you can see what others see (people who aren’t your friends), you can do so quite easily by using Facebook’s public viewing feature.

Just a few clicks puts your public-facing profile in front of you.

You can do this both on Facebook.com and the official Facebook app for iPhone/Android. Instructions are provided for both, however screenshots are provided only for Facebook.com.

Navigate to Facebook.com in a web browser or open the Facebook app on your device and select your profile icon in the post composer field or the top right corner of the page to go to your profile.

On Facebook.com, select the three dots under your cover photo.

In the app, select the three dots to the right of the blue Add Story button.

Select View As.

Your profile will be shown to you as if you were viewing it as a public user. This is how non-friends see your profile.

If you notice something appears publicly that you want to hide from the public, you can adjust the privacy settings for that information.
Why You Should View Your Facebook Profile as a Public User

You should use Facebook’s public viewing feature if you want to be able to confirm exactly what information you’re keeping private versus public. Remember, anyone who comes across your profile in search or somehow finds the direct link to your profile can see information you’ve made public.

Viewing your Facebook profile as public is even more important if you’ve been on the platform for many years. In the past, you may have been more casual with what you shared, which means it could have been very easy to overlook your current privacy settings before you shared or posted something.

By viewing your profile as a public user, you get to see exactly what a non-friend sees on your profile and then decide if you need to adjust the privacy or perhaps delete something altogether.

Viewing Your Facebook Profile as a Friend

Facebook previously allowed users to view their profiles as friends. Once you selected View As, you could select View As Specific Person and type in a friend’s name to see how their profile looked from that friend’s point of view.

Unfortunately, this feature was removed due to a security breach linked to it back in 2018. There’s been no word on whether it will eventually be brought back.

If you want to view your Facebook profile as a specific friend, there’s a bit more work involved. Here are your options:

Ask a specific friend to view your profile next time you’re physically with them. This is perhaps the easiest option.
Ask a specific friend to send you a screenshot of your profile. If you can’t get together in person, ask a friend to screenshot your profile and send it to you.
Create a new Facebook profile. You can set up a brand new Facebook account, send a friend request to your original account and then use the secondary account to view your profile once you’ve friended it.

#View #Facebook #Profile #Public


Trả lời

Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *

Back to top button